It all started with the need for water in an area where water is so difficult to find.

Donkerbos is one of the few predominately San villages with about 150 to 160 people permanently resettled there. Donkerbos people can only be described as kind, very helpful and watchful. When you arrive there, you will find them all smiles and eager to be of assistance in anyway.

Currently there are only 2 boreholes on the farm which provide water to the 150+ inhabitants, their animals and the local school of about 300 learners. As it is situated in an area where water is constantly a problem due to prevale...

[Read more...]

With this new call for the subsequent research phase (2019 - 2022), the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research continues to fund research in southern Africa, building on results achieved during the first phase and referring to stakeholder and decision maker’s needs. The overarching goal of this call is to provide scientific inputs into SASSCAL’s strategic research framework that builds on the achievements of the first phase of SASSCAL and is in alignment with the institution’s mandate. The SASSCAL research framework addresses regional research needs and imperatives within the contex...

[Read more...]

The DRFN is part of the Regional Sustainability Network (RSN), which is an HSF-Kenya initiative that was launched in September of 2018 and this project will run from 2018-2020. RSN is comprised of various institutions from the civil society sphere currently representing eight countries from sub-Saharan Africa. This network aims to contribute towards achieving of the Sustainable Development Goals and the Paris Agreement through:

  • Enabling a strategic, innovative and efficient information exchange between actors in Africa in the thematic area of Climate Change and Environmental Sustainability
  • ...
[Read more...]

Chief Fredrik Langman as the recognised traditional leader of the Aao//aen Traditional Authority in the Omaheke Region has requested an audience with President Hage Geingob at Skoonheid. Chief Langman’s jurisdiction goes across 4 constituencies, the Kalahari, Okurukambe, Eiseb and Otjimbinde. The President delegated Hon. Pea Muselenga, Minister of Urban and Rural Development and Hon. Minister Royal /Ui/o/o  the Deputy Minster under the Vice President’s office, marginalised communities division to attend the meeting on his behalf on the 7th of March 2019.

The Minister and Deputy Minister arrive...

[Read more...]